Credits and Acknowledgements

Photo credits

All photos on this site were commissioned by NEI.
Grantee photos: Ali Lapetina.
Event photos: Nick Hagen and Steve Koss.

Project team


  • Pamela Lewis, Director
  • Donald Jones, Associate Director
  • Angelina Starceski, Communications Associate
  • Mary Fulmer, Program Officer

EarlyWorks, llc. Staff

  • Nicole de Beaufort, President
  • Mary Aviles, Vice President of Insights + Experience
  • Katy Locker, Executive in Residence
  • Lauren Davies, Digital Project Manager, UX/UI Designer
  • Mobo Ayeni, Contributor

EarlyWorks, llc. Collaborating Partners

  • Melinda Clynes, Project Editor
  • Shana Parker, The Vibe Design
  • Bridgett Lomax, Contributor
  • Brian Allnutt, Contributor
  • Kate Scheible, Scheible Design

Public Policy Associates

  • Sam Singh, Chief Executive Officer
  • Daniel J. Quinn, Ph.D., Director for Education Policy
  • Larry Merrill, Contributor
  • Scott Southard, Contributor

Growth Capital Network

  • Lauren Bigelow, PhD, Chief Executive Officer
  • Tatiana Bailey, Partner
  • Denise Sandor, Program Manager
  • Trevor Nelson, Senior Analyst

Thank you to those interviewed or consulted for this project, including:


David Blaszkiewicz, Invest Detroit
Mark Burton, Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)
Brian Calley, Small Business Association of Michigan (SBAM)
Kyla Carlsen, Co.act Detroit
Carolyn Cassin, Michigan Women Forward
Barbara Eckblad, Eckblad Associates
Dave Egner, Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation
James Feagin, Projects + People
Rob Fowler, Small Business Association of Michigan (SBAM)
Janai Gilmore, Michigan Community Resources
Steve Hamp, NEI
Amy Liu, Brookings Institution
Amanda McClanahan, Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)
Mariam Noland, Community Foundation for Southeastern Michigan
Joe Parilla, Brookings Institution
Amy Rencher, TechTown
Tom Sherry, 313creative
Leslie Smith, GET Cities
Edward Staebler, TechTown
Steve Tobocman, Global Detroit
Ray Waters, Detroit Development Fund